Student Organizations

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Student Contact: Wesley Turner turnerwl@titan.sfasu.edu
Faculty Contact: Dr. R. LaRell Nielson rnielson@sfasu.edu

Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists (AEG)
First Meeting: First Wednesday of every month – First meeting will be on September 3 at 12:00 in room 326
Student Contact: Garrett Harris harrisgr@titan.sfasu.edu
Faculty Contact: Dr. Kevin Stafford staffordk@sfasu.edu

Sigma Gamma Epsilon (SGE)
Student Contact: Wesley Turner turnerwl@titan.sfasu.edu
Faculty Contact: Mrs. Pat Sharp psharp@sfasu.edu

Geology Club – Geologic Student Association
Student Contact: Danielle Minteer
Faculty Contact: Dr. R. LaRell Nielson rnielson@sfasu.edu

American Medical Student Association (AMSA/AED)
First Meeting: Tuesdays in September @ 7pm in Miller Science 137
Contact: Shelbi Perry shelbiperry@yahoo.com

Biology Club
First Meeting: September 11th @ 6pm in Miller Science 137
Contact: Mary Egwuonwu maryegwuonwu@gmail.com

Botany Interest Group
First Meeting: To be announced
Contact: James Smith

Chemistry Club
First Meeting: First Thursday in September in Chemistry 106
Contact: Elizabeth Davis Eidavis91@yahoo.com

Computer Science Club
First Meeting: First Friday in September @ 6:00pm outside McKibben room 304
Contact: Dr. Dave Cook cookda@sfasu.edu

Math Club
Mathematical Association of America
Math Honor Society - Pi Mu Epsilon Chapter
First Meeting: First Friday in September @ 2pm in Math 101
Faculty Contact: Dr. Brian Beavers beaversbd@sfasu.edu, Dr. Lynn Greenleaf greenleal@sfasu.edu

National Prehealth Honor Society (AED)
First Meeting: First Tuesday in September @ 7pm in Miller Science 137
Contact: Nikki Kelmann nicholl.kelmann@gmail.com

National Biological Honor Society (BBB)
First Meeting: Wednesday, September 10th, at 7:00pm in Miller Science 137
Contact: Jacob Scribner scribnerj@titan.sfasu.edu scribners@titan.sfasu.edu

Passion Driven Teaching (PDT)
First Meeting: Second Thursday in September @ 6:30 in Math 123
Contact: Nikki Shuenemann shueneman@titan.sfasu.edu

Pre-Dental Student Association (PDSA)
First Meeting: First Monday in September @ 7:00 in Miller Science 228
Contact: Emily Benton Emily.b93@hotmail.com

Society of Physics Students
First Meeting: First Thursday in September @ 5pm in Miller Science 323
Faculty Contact: Ali Piran apiran@sfasu.edu
Student Contact: Zack Williams williamszg@titan.sfasu.edu

Student Nurses Association (SNA)
First Meeting: September 9th @ 6:30pm at the School of Nursing
Contact: Dr. Susan Ballard (ballardsr@sfasu.edu), Ms. Regina Low (lowrd1@sfasu.edu), and Ms. Candace Carter (carterce1@sfasu.edu)

Latino Medical Students Association
First Meeting: September 18th @ 6:00pm in Science Room 137
Contact: Matthew Gonzalez


Please email dbruton@sfasu.edu if there are any missing student clubs on the listed above. Also, for the 'Next Meeting' column, let us know when the club meets. Here are some examples:

  • "The first Tuesday of every Month at 3pm in M101"
  • "Every Two Weeks on Thursdays at 4 p.m. in S323"
  • "To Be Announced"
  • etc.

Convocation Timeline

3:45 Doors Open
4:00-4:25 opening in Kennedy
4:30-5:25 meet with individual departments
5:30-6:00 return to Kennedy for pizza and T-shirt giveaway WITH STUDENT CLUBS

Convocation Locations

Department LocationConvocation Representatives
Biology Miller Science 233Dennis Gravatt dgravatt@sfasu.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry Chemistry 106Dr. Darrell Fry (frydr@sfasu.edu)
Dr. Alyx Frantzen (afrantzen@sfasu.edu)
Dr. Michele Harris (mharris@sfasu.edu)
Computer Science & Information Technology Miller Science 139Mr. Korey Kahler (kkahler@sfasu.edu)
Geology Miller Science 302Wesley Brown (brownwa1@sfasu.edu)
Mathematics and Statistics Math Room 123 Dr. Jane Long (longjh@sfasu.edu)
NursingBPSC Movie TheaterDr. Susan Ballard (ballardsr@sfasu.edu)
Physics, Astronomy, Engineering Miller Science 334Dr. Dan Bruton (dbruton@sfasu.edu)
Dr. Harry Downing (hdowning@sfasu.edu)
Pre-Heath Professions Miller Science 127Anita Beavers (abeavers@sfasu.edu)
Dr. Kevin Langford (klangford@sfasu.edu)